02 October, 2018

Go on, Girl by Hilary Grossman - [Book Review]

Book Details:

Title : Go on, Girl
Author : Hilary Grossman
Genre : Contemporary Fiction, Women Fiction, Parenting and Family Humor
Length of the book : 276 pages
Source : A free print copy from the author for review

Go on, Girl by Hilary Grossman

Blurb:

Executive, wife, and mother of an outgoing first-grader, Sydney Clayton crushes her day-to-day obligations at work but flounders in the cutthroat world of parental politics.

She manages to avoid the local drama until she’s faced with an ultimatum: join the Forest River PTA or risk her daughter becoming a social outcast. Sydney reluctantly becomes treasurer, and takes the recently vacated position of the president’s sidekick. If protecting the children’s freedom of speech, one best friend ban at a time, isn’t complicated enough, Sydney and her husband receive an unexpected offer for their house they don’t think they can refuse. 

Embroiled in the deception and manipulation rife among the elementary school moms, Sydney struggles. Should she sell the home she worked so hard to build in a town where betrayal runs rampant? Or should she stay put to avoid the fallout from uprooting her child? As Sydney focuses on what is best for her daughter, and lets go of her judgments, she finds friendship can develop in very unexpected ways.

Warm, witty, and wise, Go On, Girl dramatizes the dilemmas of life in the suburbs and the bonds shared by women. Perfect for fans of Class Mom and Big Little Lies.

"Hilary Grossman knocked it out of the park with her fourth novel. Go On, Girl is filled with humor and heart." - Meredith Schorr - Best Selling Author of The Boyfriend Swap and The Blogger Girl Series ★★★★★

"Liane Moriarty brought it back in Big Little Lies and Laurie Gelman made it laugh-out-loud funny in Class Mom. Hilary Grossman’s new novel brings it center stage as the Forest River PTA dishes out more drama than you’d find in a Meryl Streep movie!" - The Book Whisperer ★★★★★

"If you’re one who enjoys reading about drama mamas and school politics, then I recommend this book. Go On, Girl” was one of my favorite books I’ve read this year, so I’ll be adding it to my top of 2018 list." - Chick Lit Goddess ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

"This was such a fun story, you can't help but lose yourself in the drama and politics that Sydney encounters when she joins the Forest River PTA. With a lot of eye-rolling, smirking, and outright snickering, I really enjoyed following Syndey and her co-PTA members as they ruled the roost at Forest River Elementary. " - Jersey Girl Book Reviews ★★★★★

"Hilary Grossman proves that not everyone is as they seem and unfortunately some people are exactly as they seem! This was just what this PTO mom needed before the craziness of school starts up!" - Little Book Page ★ ★ ★ ★ ★


My Review:

This is a perfect family humor that I have read recently. Sydney is a working mom and a parent of little girl Amanda who is a first grader in Forest River Elementary school. While she is busy managing work and office, her life takes a turn when she becomes treasurer in Forest River school PTA. The office work, PTO meetings, work related to PTO, gossips, and warnings of other PTO moms drive Sydney crazy. As luck would have it, she and her husband Craig have to deal with the pressure of selling their home and preparing to move to a new place at the same time. 

Even though Syd joins the PTA committee reluctantly, she makes great friends. She goes beyond the initial judgments and forms a friendship with Jackie. Her straightforward nature and the cool way of handling problems make her a good friend to Jackie. 

The story, dialogues, and narration are all witty. Craig is a sweet as an understanding partner to Syd. I thoroughly enjoyed reading the book even though it is not a thriller and has a predictable story. I fell in love with Syd and could relate to her anxiety when it came to taking a decision for her daughter. 

We all go through pressure when things move fast in our life and we have to take some important decisions. But, we never look back and see how these circumstances help us to find real friends and form great bonds in our life. In all this process while Syd forms new friends, especially Jackie, Kara and Rosemary, Craig gels well with Andrew. 

This is a fantastic read for a beach vacation or long drives. If you are a mom of Elementary school child, you would surely love this!

My Rating: 4.5/5

PS: I have received this free book from the author in exchange for a review and this is my honest opinion of the book.

Purchase Link:
Amazon

About the Author:

Hilary Grossman
By day, Hilary Grossman works in the booze biz. By night she hangs out with her "characters." She has an unhealthy addiction to denim and high heel shoes. She's been known to walk into walls and fall up stairs. She only eats spicy foods and is obsessed with her cat, Lucy. She loves to find humor in everyday life. She likens life to a game of dodge ball - she tries to keep many balls in the air before they smack her in the face. She lives on Long Island. 

To find out more of what Hilary is up to check out her Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/HilaryGrossmanAuthor or 

find her on Twitter https://twitter.com/feelingbeachie

Until next time,




Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...