07 September, 2016

Mummy's Little Angel by JW Lawson - [Book Review]

Book Details:

Book Title: Mummy's Little Angel by JW Lawson
Category: Adult fiction, 294 pages
Genre: Psychological Thriller
Publisher: Friesen Press
Release date: June 6, 2016
Content Rating: R (Because of the subject matter and language level, the target audience would most likely be adults ages eighteen years and up who have an appetite for horror. Fans of VC Andrews, Thomas Harris, and Gillian Flynn will be open to Mummy’s Little Angel. There are references to sex, S&M, bad language and rape.)

Book Description:

Joanne didn’t believe that her life could become worse than it already was. She had lost everybody and everything she had loved. She was alone. Surely she had suffered enough? The press had called her identical twins psychopaths. Her Maggie. Her Annie. But she still loved them, even though one of them had killed her husband, Jeff. Joanne believed that his murder had been an accident. How could one of her girls be a murderer? She knew them better than anybody else. They were good girls really.

She just had to prove it.

The brutal murder of her god-daughter Laura had never been solved. Items were missing when Laura’s remains had been discovered: clues that could lead to the capture of her killer. One of them was Laura’s doll … the doll that Joanne later discovered in her home. Joanne is facing the most horrific dilemma of her life. Has the wrong woman been imprisoned? Could her child have used such brutality against her best friend? Or could both women be innocent after all?

She needs to find somebody for her daughter to confide in; somebody she will trust. She needs a miracle. There is only one person who can help. He is compassionate and caring, with an amazing ability to gain the trust of the most difficult patients. He is Joanne's only hope. He is Jonathan Davies.

My Review:

The story is about a mother Joanne and her 2 twin daughters Annie and Maggie who are her little angels. A mother always loves her children however they might be.  Joanne couldn't accept when one or both of her daughters are psychopaths and murdered a few brutally. There is also a confusion on who is the killer out of those twins as both lie and try to look innocent. While she is weak with her illness, her mother’s past also depress her a lot. 

The story is written as a journal of Joanne and her daughters. This gave the reader an opportunity to understand the feelings of each character from their perspective. Still, the suspense continues and we will also be confused as Joanne on which daughter is evil. 

I loved the way the plot is revealed in the form of a diary. Characters are intriguing and unpredictable which made this novel a good suspense thriller. The book cover is scary and the title is very apt. The characterization and the narration are perfect though i felt the pace slowed a bit in the middle. 

Overall, a fantastic read. 

My Rating: 5/5
Ps: I have received this book in exchange of an honest review through iread book tours and this is my honest opinion on the book.

Meet the Author:


Award Wining Author, JW Lawson is already gaining recognition for her writing talents in the US and world-wide. The second of a trilogy of sensational thrillers,Mummy's Little Angel is the winner of the highly acclaimed Worlds Best Story competition and has also received some outstanding reviews from the professional team of judges in the competition. She is currently writing her third thriller, Crossroads which will be available in 2017 and the final book of the current series, Hush Little Baby will be available in 2018.

Connect with the author: Website ~ Twitter ~ Facebook

Until next time,

6 comments:

Jw Lawson said...

Wow, what can I say, other than an enormous thank you for such a glowing review! I'm delighted that you enjoyed the story. Thank you so much again.

Shalini said...

This truly sounds exciting. Thanks for a great review. I will try to pick up the book :)

Me Otherwise said...

Exciting!!!! Shall keep note of it in my to be read list... Great review!

mahathi ramya A said...

Thanks ☺

mahathi ramya A said...

Sure give it a try Shalini.

mahathi ramya A said...

It's my pleasure, thanks Lawson

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Feel free to give feedback :)